The Imaginary Realms of
Gilbert M. Stack


Pembroke Steel

The Pembroke Steel Series

It's the Roaring Twenties and Mitch Pembroke's greatest concern should be how to keep his steel tycoon father from forcing him to settle down and take the corner office at the company headquarters in Pittsburgh. The economy is soaring and the world has been made safe for democracy. Life ought to be one great party. So why does Mitch, and his friend and bodyguard, Kit Moran, keep stumbling into so much trouble? Pembroke Steel is an exciting series that blurs the line between historical fiction and dark fantasy. 

Lazarus Key (Pembroke Steel Volume 1)

When the girl of Mitch Pembroke’s dreams responds to his invitation to meet his parents by fleeing home to a remote Caribbean island, the former Great War pilot does what he thinks any red-blooded American male would do—he drops everything and goes after her. But Mitch isn’t the first man to follow Lorali home and like his predecessors, he may not survive the visit. Lazarus Key is the first novella in a series that blurs the line between historical fiction and dark fantasy.

Praise for Lazarus Key

“Stack takes you into an incredible environment in Lazarus Key, an island so gruesome yet fully believable thanks to the masterful descriptions he gives of place, sound and smell, weather and weirdness in all directions. I highly recommend this tale for the way it straddles the historically-accurate world of Prohibition America with the supernatural sphere…If you like the well-thrown fist or the prospect of being eaten alive, sail straight ahead into Lazarus Key."

                                                                        William L. Hahn, author of the Shards of Light Series

Lazarus Key can be found for $0.99 at Amazon and free at Kindle Unlimited 

Hearts of Ice and Other Stories (Pembroke Steel Volume 2)

Here are the next four stories in the Pembroke Steel series:

Hearts of Ice

When Mitch’s wealthy father summons him to the family’s long unused mountain hunting lodge, he reluctantly packs his bags and catches the next train to Colorado. Corazón del Hielo—the Heart of Ice—was once the focus of many happy family vacations, but it’s also the last place anyone saw his cousin—alive or dead. It’s been thirteen years now since the boy mysteriously disappeared and what Mitch doesn't remember about that night may just kill him…

A Taste of Yuletide Vengeance

When Mitch makes a surprise visit to see Kit and his family over Christmas, he’s only trying to get away from his domineering parents and their never-ending plans to end his bachelor ways. A little snow, a few carols and maybe a little harmless flirting with Kit’s sisters promises a pleasant change in atmosphere from the tense matchmaking of the Pembroke household. But the light-hearted visit takes a nasty turn when neighbors find Kit’s mother lying beaten and bloody on the sidewalk. With Mrs. Moran unconscious and Kit seeing red, it’s up to Mitch to help his friend secure A Taste of Yuletide Vengeance.

Kid Sister

When Mitch and Kit receive news that an old war buddy has gone missing, they drop everything to travel to Baltimore and search for him. Their one real link to the missing man is his Kid Sister, but it’s just possible she’s also the reason he’s disappeared…

Riddle of the Deceiver

When Mitch and Kit get involved in a search for a missing school teacher, they get more than they bargained for. Miss Egan is not the only resident of her Maine logging town to have gone missing in recent weeks and her terrified neighbors are desperate for answers. Are the disappearances really tied to an old Native American legend or is there an even more sinister solution? Can Mitch and Kit find Miss Egan or will they too end up victims of the Deceiver?

Hearts of Ice and Other Stories can be found for $2.99 at Amazon and for free at Kindle Unlimited.

The Shore and Other Stories (Pembroke Steel Volume 3)

The next three stories in the Pembroke Steel series:


Wealthy playboy and confirmed bachelor, Mitch Pembroke, has finally run out of room to run. His parents have maneuvered him onto a transatlantic cruise with Jenny Lee Danforth, the lovely heiress to a business they wish to merge with their own Pembroke Steel. But while the enchanting Jenny Lee is making Mitch reconsider the desirability of being single, someone else is going to great lengths to keep him that way—especially if it kills him.

The Shore

Millionaire's son, Mitch Pembroke, was hoping to spend a relaxing week on the Jersey Shore with his fiancé, Jenny Lee Danforth, and his friend and bodyguard, Kit Moran. He was not expecting an old war buddy to die tragically or one of his fiancé’s friends to disappear under mysterious circumstances. Now Mitch, Jenny Lee and Kit must find out why people are dying or risk becoming three more victims of the Shore. 


A year ago, Lorali Sinclair broke Mitch Pembroke’s heart when she took her son from a previous relationship and deserted him. Now Lorali has had second thoughts and she isn’t at all happy to learn that Mitch has moved on with his life. She’s decided she wants him back—even if she has to kill his new fiancé to get him.

The Shore and Other Stories can be found for $2.99 at Amazon and for free at Kindle Unlimited.