The Imaginary Realms of
Gilbert M. Stack


Newsletter #4

Stacked High: Issue #4: The Official Newsletter of Gilbert M. Stack

Happy New Year! And welcome back to Stacked High. 2017 has come to an end surrounded by family, friends and good times. I hope you have enjoyed the holiday as much as I did. As I look ahead to 2018, I’m excited to announce the release of The Sea of Grass, the second book—and first full-length novel—in my Legionnaire series.

Forbidden from returning to Aquila, Marcus Venandus responds to a plea from a half-brother he has never met to aid him in the far away land called the Jeweled Hills. When pirates shut down the sea routes, the legion officer and his two trusted companions are forced to join a caravan to make the slower journey north across the treacherous Sea of Grass. Yet this may not prove to be the safer choice. A mysterious shaman has sworn to drench the plains in the blood of foreigners and his mastery over storms gives him the teeth to fulfill his oath. As chaos envelopes the trail, it will fall to Marcus to organize the defense and try to shepherd the frightened civilians of the caravan to safety again.

The Sea of Grass will be available for $3.99 starting February 1, but if you pre-order it during the month of January, you can get it for the reduced price of $2.99. You can find it at Amazon, Barnes & Noble, iBooks, Smashwords and other e-sellers.

And just in case February is too long to wait, why not take a look at Lazarus Key, the novella that kicked off the Pembroke Steel series?

When the girl of Mitch Pembroke’s dreams responds to his invitation to meet his parents by fleeing home to a remote Caribbean island, the former Great War pilot does what he thinks any red-blooded American male would do—he drops everything and goes after her. But Mitch isn’t the first man to follow Lorali home and like his predecessors, he may not survive his visit to Lazarus Key.

Lazarus Key is the first book in a series that blurs the line between historical fiction and dark fantasy. Like The Sea of Grass, it can be found at Amazon, Barnes & Noble, iBooks, Smashwords and other e-sellers.

And in case you missed it, you can still pick up the book that launched the Legionnaire saga, The Fire Islands.

Lesser Tribune Marcus Venandus, Legion officer exemplar, was exiled to the disease-ridden hell hole known as the Fire Islands as punishment for the failed political machinations of his father. While the days of the powerful witchdoctor kings throwing skeletal armies against the shields of the legion have faded into history, all is not right at the edge of the world. Unrest is boiling once again as long dead darkness seeps back into the islands. With the legion more concerned with its personal rivalries than with its duty, it will fall to Marcus and his small, highly disciplined, command to put the horrors of the past back in their graves and literally save Aquila from a fate worse than death. 

The Fire Islands can be found at Amazon, iBooks, Barnes & Noble, Smashwords and other e-sellers.

In between newsletters, please check out my webpage at, for up to the minute news on my publications, new book reviews, and my blog featuring my Today in History snippets. Or like me on Facebook.

Until next time, may 2018 bring you much happiness and joy.

Gilbert M. Stack

If you would like to have future newsletters emailed to you for free, please complete the form below:

Thank you for contacting us. We will get back to you as soon as possible
Oops. An error occurred.
Click here to try again.